Public Health residents sweep national awards

The Public Health Physicians of Canada (PHPC) is the national society representing public health specialists across Canada. Their Annual General Meeting took place on June 9, 2013 during the 2013 Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA) national conference and McMaster University’s Public Health & Preventive Medicine (PHPM) residents swept away all awards up for grabs.

Dr. Farhan Asrar was awarded the PHPC President’s Award (an award that is open to faculty & residents with previous winners including PH program directors and faculty members) for outstanding contributions to the Public Health Specialty and a commitment to excellence.

Dr. Gayane Hovhannisyan was awarded the PHPC Resident Leadership Award for her leadership and contributions to the PHPC.

Dr. Mustafa Hirji (current Chief Resident)  and Dr. Kit Ngan Young Hoon were awarded the PHPC Resident Travel Grant. Their research projects were also accepted for presentation at the CPHA conference.