Women and workplaces with Mac connections nominated for YWCA Hamilton Women of Distinction Awards

The 2020 nominees for YWCA Hamilton's Women of Distinction Awards

More than 30 women and workplaces with McMaster connections have been nominated for YWCA Hamilton’s Women of Distinction Awards.

The nominations, which were announced last night, “honour and celebrate trailblazing women who have excelled in their fields,” according to the YWCA’s website.

In all, the list of nominees included more than 75 women and businesses in 10 categories.

In the Science/Technology/Trades category, all of the four nominees were connected with McMaster.

Winners will be announced on March 5, 2020.

McMaster nominees include:


  • Diana Weir

Business Leadership/Entrepreneurship

  • Trish Tonaj

Community Leadership

  • Cynthia Meyer
  • Judith Moses Dworkin
  • Monica Ciriello
  • Stephanie Hatzifilalithis


  • Abeer Siddiqui
  • Abigail Santos
  • Brigitte Huard
  • Erin Simon
  • Lisa Owens
  • Susan Reid (also nominated for Lifetime Achievement)


  • Audrey Hicks (also nominated for Lifetime Achievement)
  • Christina Dzieduszycki
  • Karen McAssey
  • Theresa Burns (also nominated for Lifetime Achievement)

Outstanding Small Business

  • Blueberry Therapy


  • Heather Sheardown
  • Kim Jones
  • Nipa Patel
  • Sehrish Zehra

Young Women of Distinction

  • Bianca Caramento
  • Cassidy Bereskin
  • Elise Desjardins
  • Fawziyah Isah
  • Kayonne Christy
  • Razan Samara
  • Salsa Sarhan
  • Sammie Dhillon
  • Sonia Igboanugo
  • Sydney Hussett-Richardson

Lifetime Achievement

  • Audrey Hicks
  • Susan Reid
  • Theresa Burns

Related Stories