Three researchers named to Royal Society’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists


Three McMaster researchers have been elected to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

Bonny Ibhawoh (Humanities), Wael El-Dakhakhni (Engineering) and Paul Ayers (Science) have all been named new members of the College, which recognizes the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership.

Members of the College are researchers who, at an early stage in their career, have demonstrated a high level of achievement.

Ibhawoh studies African history, global human rights and peace studies.

El-Dakhakhni is interested in better understanding the performance of masonry, concrete and steel structures during earthquakes.

Ayers’ lab develops new methods for understanding chemical phenomena, with implications for a wide variety of industries including drug design, nuclear waste processing and more.

The announcement follows the election of two other McMaster faculty as Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

On Sept. 7, Barry Allen, professor of philosophy, was elected to the Academy of Arts & Humanities, and Jeffrey Weitz, professor of medicine and biochemistry, was elected to the Academy of Science.

Formal induction for all five researchers will take place in November.