Tell your research story in the 2020 Three Minute Thesis Competition

Last year's winner, Matt Campea,

Could you explain years of research in just three minutes?

That’s the challenge for graduate students at McMaster’s 2020 Three Minute Thesis Competition, happening March 18 to 19.

Competitors will present their research – and its wider impact – to a panel of non-specialist judges from campus and broader Hamilton communities. Participants have just 180 seconds and one static presentation slide to present complex research in an engaging, accessible, and compelling way.

Register now.

Registration closes on March 2, 12 noon. 

Refine your communication skills and share your research

The 3MT is an opportunity for current grad students to share their work beyond their faculties and disciplines – it’s a chance to let the world know about the important and innovative research contributions made by McMaster’s graduate community. The competition also provides an opportunity for students to refine communication skills that can be transferred to diverse careers, within or beyond academia.

Check out the 2019 finalists Three Minute Thesis presentations on our McMasterSGS YouTube channel.

Winning the 3MT

Six preliminary heats run throughout two days of competition, with the first beginning at 9 a.m. Top participants from each heat will compete in the final at 2 p.m. on March 19. All heats take place at the LR Wilson Concert Hall, in the LR Wilson Building.

The winner of the final heat will

  • Represent McMaster at Ontario’s Provincial Final at University of Windsor in April;
  • Receive the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Communicating Research and a cash prize.

The top place competitor who is in a doctoral program will go on to represent McMaster in the Universitas 21 Competition in October (video competition).

Second and third place will receive cash prizes, and second through fifth place winners will receive the Dean’s Award. All 3MT participants competing or attending the Final, are eligible to vote for the Competitor’s Choice awarded to one of the Final Heat presenters.

Related Stories