Supreme Court justice, Canadian Brass will receive honorary degrees this week


Supreme Court Justice Madame Louise Arbour and members of the Canadian Brass will receive honorary degrees at McMaster's Spring Convocation ceremonies this week. The Convocations will be held at Hamilton Place on Summers' Lane on May 30, 31 and June 1. Degrees will be awarded to more than 2,700 McMaster graduands. Other individuals who will also be receiving honorary degrees are listed below.

School of Business, 9:30 a.m.

Allen Lambert, Doctor of Laws (LLD) — Lambert is former chair and chief executive officer and director of the Toronto Dominion Bank. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada and a member of the Canadian Business Hall of Fame.

Lawrence Tapp, Doctor of Laws (LLD) — Tapp, a McMaster graduate, is dean of the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario. The business executive initiated the $552-million leveraged buy-out deal in 1985 that created the Lawson Mardon Group Limited, one of the world's largest packaging conglomerates.

Faculty of Humanities and Arts & Science Program, 2:30 p.m

T. Yoshihara, Doctor of Letters (D. Litt.) — Toyoshi Yoshihara has translated the works of Canadian playwrights such as George Walker, Michel Tremblay and Anne Chislet into Japanese. He writes regularly on Canadian theatre for Japanese periodicals. He is currently CEO of Komatsu Canada.

The Canadian Brass, Doctor of Letters (D. Litt.)– This group of musicians has performed with Canada's major symphony orchestras. (The group will perform at Convocation.)


Faculty of Social Sciences (except Gerontology, Kinesiology, Social Work and Sociology), 9:30 a.m.

John Helliwell, Doctor of Laws (LLD)– Helliwell has been a professor of economics at UBC since 1971.His recent research has emphasized comparative macroeconomics and growth, including especially the influence of openness and institutions. He is an Officer of the Order of Canada and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

John Ruggie, Doctor of Laws (LLD)– Ruggie is chief adviser for strategic planning to United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan, at the rank of Assistant Secretary-General. His special responsibilities are institutional reforms, UN-US relations, and UN relations with the global business community.

Faculty of Social Sciences (Gerontology, Kinesiology, Social Work and Sociology), 2:30 p.m.

Louise Arbour, Doctor of Laws (LLD) — The Hon. Mme. Justice Louise Arbour was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada in June 1999, effective September 15, 1999. In 1996 she was appointed by the Security Council of the United Nations as prosecutor for the International Criminal Tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda.

Donald Ivison, Doctor of Laws (LLD)– Ivison is a former senior vice-president, DuPont Canada Inc. He was appointed to McMaster's Board of Governors in 1990 and served as Chair of the McMaster Board from 1997 to 1999.

Faculty of Engineering, 9:30 a.m.

David Braley, Doctor of Laws (LLD) — Braley is president of Orlick Industries Limited, a major supplier of automotive parts, and owner of the B.C. Lions CFL Football Team and the Vancouver 86's Soccer Team. He is a long-time Hamilton community builder.

Tom Brzustowksi, Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) — Brzustowski is president of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. An engineer, he graduated with a B.A.Sc. in engineering physics from the University of Toronto in 1958.

Faculty of Science, 2:30 p.m.

Arthur J. Carty, Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) — Carty is president of the National Research Council of Canada, where he promotes the vision of NRC as a leader in the development of an innovative, knowledge-based economy through science and technology. He is a former president of the Canadian Society for Chemistry.

William F. Grant, Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) –Grant is professor emeritus of plant science at McGill University. A Hamiltonian and graduate of both Westdale Collegiate and McMaster University, he has had an important impact on the advancement of botany and genetics. He is currently co-director of the International Program on Plant Bioassays.