Six McMaster researchers named Canada Research Chairs

Six headshots of researchers who have been awarded Canada Research Chairs

From top left: Sarah McDonald, Graham Scott and Richard Whitlock. From bottom left: Marisa Young, Andrea Gonzalez and Alexander Klein

Four researchers across four faculties have been named new Canada Research Chairs, as part of an ongoing national strategy to make Canada one of the world’s top countries in research and development.

Two additional researchers have had their chairs renewed.

“While these researchers are already recognized as leaders in their fields, the investment by the CRC program will go a long way to help them build their teams to further advance their work,” says Karen Mossman, vice-president, research. “Congratulations to our Chairholders and a huge thanks to the Government of Canada for its continued investment in research excellence.”

Currently, McMaster has 88 Canada Research Chairs in total.

McMaster’s new Canada Research Chairs are:

  • Andrea Gonzalez, an associate professor in the department of psychiatry and behavioural neurosciences, is the new Canada Research Chair in Family Health and Preventive Interventions (Tier 2). Her work focuses on how different biological, social and other factors affect parenting, and the subsequent effect on childhood development.
  • Alexander Klein, an associate professor in the department of philosophy, has been named the Canada Research Chair in Bertrand Russell and Crosscurrents of Early Analytic Philosophy (Tier 1). His research centres on histories of analytic philosophy and pragmatism.
  • Richard Whitlock, a professor in the department of surgery, is now the Canada Research Chair in Cardiovascular Surgery. He is a practicing cardiovascular surgeon whose clinical focus is on aortic valve intervention and aortic surgery.
  • Marisa Young is an associate professor in the department of sociology, and the new Canada Research Chair in Mental Health and Work-Life Transitions. She studies the intersections of work, family, gender and mental health.

Researchers who have had their Canada Research Chairs renewed are:

  • Sarah McDonald, Canada Research Chair in Maternal and Infant Health Promotion (Tier 2)
  • Graham Scott, Canada Research Chair in Comparative and Environmental Physiology (Tier 2)

Tier 1 Chairs, which are held for seven years and renewable once, are for outstanding researchers who are considered world leaders in their fields.

For each Tier 1 Chair, McMaster receives $200,000 annually for seven years.

Tier 2 Chairs, which are held for five years and renewable once, are for exceptional emerging researchers who have the potential to lead in their field.

For each Tier 2 Chair, McMaster receives $100,000 annually for five years, with an additional $20,000 annual research stipend for first-term Tier 2 Chairs.