Search for McMaster Vice-President, University Advancement is underway

The exterior of University Hall on a sunny winter day.

The search for McMaster’s next Vice-President (University Advancement) is now underway.

The Vice-President (University Advancement) provides overall leadership and direction in the areas of development and fundraising, and plays a critically important role in advancing the university’s strategy, developing and building partnerships, engaging with donors, alumni and stakeholders, and ensuring the provision of substantial resources in support of McMaster’s ambitious vision.

In addition to leading key projects, this role will be responsible for cultivating and soliciting a portfolio of major and principal gift prospects, advancing fundraising and broader revenue-generation activities across the institution, and leading and overseeing the planning and launch of McMaster’s next fundraising campaign.

More information about this position can be found here.

The selection committee has been approved by Senate and has begun meeting. The membership of the committee includes:

• David Farrar, President and Vice-Chancellor
• Susan Tighe, Provost and Vice-President, Academic
• Paul O’Byrne, Vice-President and Dean of Health Sciences
• Jeremiah Hurley, Professor and Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences
• Mark Crowther, Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine
• Elkafi Hassini, Professor and Associate Dean, Research, DeGroote School of Business
• Daniel Pape, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Humanities
• Lindsay Bolan, Director, Outreach & Engagement, Faculty of Engineering
• Heather Colwell, Director, Development, Faculty of Science, University Advancement
• Jennifer Rowe, Member of the Committee on University Advancement (Board of Governors)
• Justin Boye, Board of Governors, Alumni Representative
• Susan Galloway, Executive Director, Finance, Faculty of Health Sciences and Board of Governors, Staff Representative
• Jasmine Dhaliwal, Board of Governors Undergraduate Student Representative
• Sonia Anand (Equity Advisor), Professor, Department of Medicine and Associate Vice-President (Equity and Inclusion) (Acting)

The committee is being supported by Julia Robarts and Colleen Keenan of Ogders Berndtson and is aiming to identify a successful candidate to start in the role of Vice-President (University Advancement) this spring.

The appointment of the successful candidate will be announced once confirmed by the Senate and Board of Governors.

Nominations, comments and feedback for the committee can be sent to:

Related Stories