posted on Nov. 14: 18 first-year McMaster scholars honoured


[img_inline align=”right” src=””]Recipients of this year's McMaster Scholar Awards – the University's top scholarships – were honoured and welcomed to campus recently at a reception held at the President's Residence.

University President Peter George, Faculty deans and about 20 previous award winners welcomed the 18 first-year award-winning students.

The students received scholarships which range from $12,000 to $25,000 over four years.

This year more than 1,000 applicants from across the country vied for the awards.

The McMaster Scholar Awards, the University's most prestigious entrance scholarships, are given to students with an average of 90 per cent or higher and who have strong academic achievements as well as extracurricular activities.

Congratulated and honoured with certificates were: Front (l-r): Ian Anderson, Oriana Ly, Matthew Schmidt, Jonathan Della Vedova, Joanne Ditschun, Middle (seated l-r): Calli Armstrong, Rebecca Ross, Barbara Kuziora, Elaine Cheng, Adelicia Yu, Nicole Del Bel, Kristen Koopmans, Back (l-r): Christian Kurtz, Stephanie Wong, Carly McKinnon, Peter George, Aaron Orkin, Geoffrey Wilkin and Jon Little.

Photo: Jack Hourigan