posted on Nov. 11: Marauders win second consecutive Yates Cup


The McMaster Marauders won the 103rd Yates Cup Championship on Saturday defeating the Ottawa Gee Gees 30-22.

In front of a roaring crowd of nearly 6,000 fans, the McMaster
football team defeated the University of Ottawa team to capture
their second consecutive Ontario University Athletics championship.

The Marauders now travel to Winnipeg, Saturday, Nov. 17 to take on the University of Manitoba Bisons in the Churchill Bowl game.

The winner of that game will
secure a spot to vie for the national championship Vanier Cup to be held in Toronto at the SkyDome, Saturday, Dec. 1.

Saturday's game, the McMaster defence continued to amaze as it forced six Ottawa
turnovers. It was defensive back Greg Restivo's interception in the
waning minutes of the game that halted the Gee Gees' comeback attempt and
secured the victory for the Marauders.

Offensively, quarterback Ben Chapdelaine
completed 17 of 33 passes for 290 yards.

Wide receiver Vaughn Swart won
the Dalt White Trophy as the game's most valuable player by making seven catches for 201 yards and three

At halftime, the McMaster Children's Hospital was presented with a cheque
from Kojo's Kids for $11,000.