posted on June 20: Outstanding Service award winners lauded


[img_inline align=”right” src=””]They are shining examples of leadership and collegiality.

And yesterday the seven recipients of the 2000 President's Awards for Outstanding Service were hailed for their accomplishments and honoured by their colleagues, friends and families.

The winners were nominated by co-workers, colleagues and supervisors for the annual awards.

The Merit Award Recipients are:

  • Steven Beierl, Career Planning & Employment Centre
  • Marvin Gunderman, Department of Biology
  • Doris Hutchison, Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics
  • Diane Kerss, School of Graduate Studies
  • Liza Thong, Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics

The Special Award Recipients are:

  • Susan Birnie, School of Rehabilitation Science
  • Deane Maynard, School of Geography & Geology.

“Their enthusiasm and effectiveness extend beyond their own jobs to their colleagues and to the entire McMaster community,” said President Peter George at yesterday's ceremony in the Great Hall, University Club.

“It is encouraging that once again the recipients are from across the University. Each person who works at the University, each project, each Faculty and administrative area makes a difference.”

The award winners are individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the McMaster community in the previous year.

Photo: (L to R) Steven Beierl, Doris Hutchison, Susan Birnie, Peter George, Liza Thong, Marvin Gunderman, Deane Maynard, Diane Kerss (seated).