posted on August 1: Engineering physics professor appointed to William Sinclair Chair in Optoelectronics


[img_inline align=”right” src=”” caption=”Peter Mascher”]Engineering physics professor Peter Mascher has been appointed to the William Sinclair Chair in Optoelectronics.

“Peter Mascher has been a stellar administrator as chair of engineering physics and is eager to expand on his research work,” said Mo Elbestawi, dean of engineering.

“The Faculty is fortunate to have such an enthusiastic researcher of his calibre. We are excited about awarding this prestigious honour to Dr. Mascher.”

Mascher obtained a PhD in engineering physics from the Technical University Graz, Austria and spent about four years as a post-doctoral fellow and research associate at the University of Winnipeg.

He joined McMaster University in 1989 in a position initially funded by the Ontario Centre for Materials Research.

He is a professional engineer and a professor in the Department of Engineering Physics and has been department chair since 1995.

Mascher leads active research groups involved in the fabrication and characterization of thin oxide/nitride films for optoelectronic applications and in the characterization of defects in semiconductors by positron annihilation spectroscopy.

His research work is funded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and several federal and provincial centres of excellence, as well as industry.

Recently he spearheaded a successful application to the Ontario Research and Development Challenge Fund to establish the Ontario Photonics Consortium, an initiative centred at McMaster and involving the participation of research teams from the University of Western Ontario, the University of Waterloo and Queen's University.

Mascher has authored or co-authored more than 100 publications in refereed journals and conference proceedings, has presented several invited lectures at international conferences and has graduated 14 PhD and master's students.

He is a member of McMaster's Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research and the Centre for Electrophotonic Materials and Devices, as well as a number of international physics and materials research societies.