Nine McMaster researchers to receive University Scholar prize


Nine members of the McMaster community have been named University Scholars.

The title is intended to recognize faculty members in mid-career who have already distinguished themselves as international scholars.

Recipients are considered global leaders in a number of diverse research areas and academic disciplines.

Each University Scholar will be awarded for a period of four years (beginning July 1, 2015), and will receive $15,000 per year provided by McMaster provost David Wilkinson and the applicable faculty dean.

Among this year’s winners are four Canada Research Chair holders — Mohit Bhandari, Katherine Cuff, Marie Elliot and Gregory Steinberg. Paul Ayers held the Canada Research Chair in Theoretical Chemistry and Chemical Biology from 2002 to 2012.

The full list of 2015 University Scholar recipients is as follows:

  • Paul Ayers — professor, Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
  • Christina Baade — associate professor, Communication Studies and Multimedia
  • Mohit Bhandari — professor, Surgery; Canada Research Chair in Musculoskeletal Trauma and Surgical Outcomes
  • Katherine Cuff — associate professor, Economics; Canada Research Chair in Public Economic Theory
  • PJ Devereaux — associate professor, Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Marie Elliot — associate professor, Biology; Canada Research Chair in Microbial Genomics
  • Todd Hoare — associate professor, Chemical Engineering
  • Justin Jin — assistant professor, Accounting and Financial Management Services
  • Gregory Steinberg — professor, Medicine (Endocrinology); Canada Research Chair in Metabolism and Obesity