McMaster men’s tennis team wins national title


The McMaster men's varsity tennis team defeated the University of Manitoba by a score of 7-2 to win the national title at Canadian University Tennis Championships in Winnipeg on the weekend.

The men won their first-ever OUA crown in October to qualify for this event. They defeated Queen's in the semi-finals 4-3 and then defeated the defending OUA champion Western Mustangs 4-1 in the finals.

Team members include Jeremy Cohen, Mathan Krishnappan, Chris Lychak, Scott Moore, Ian Chan, Kris McCrady, Andrew Reial, Vas Pivrnec and coach Rasim Sehovic. The team looks forward to defending their Ontario and Canadian titles in 2000-2001 with seven of eight team members returning.

First-year coach, Rasim Sehovic says he is “very happy with this win, and with almost a full team returning next year a repeat national title is very possible.”