McMaster Engineering alumni inducted into Canadian Academy of Engineering

Clockwise from top left: Peter Mabson, Waguih Ishak, Faizel Lakhani, Duncan Hannay, Lawrence Tse, and Roger Tong

This year, six McMaster Engineering alumni join a community of highly accomplished engineers as Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE).

“My deepest congratulations to this year’s Fellows for your well-deserved recognition from the CAE,” says Ishwar K. Puri, dean and professor, who was inducted as a Fellow of the CAE in 2017. “I am privileged to work alongside these distinguished engineers, each who are part of the McMaster Engineering community, first as students, and now by continuing to create lasting impact as professionals and mentors.” 

The newest McMaster Engineering-affiliated CAE members are: 

  • Waguih Ishak, chief technologist for Corning Incorporated
  • Faizel Lakhani, CEO of
  • Lawrence Tse, senior vice-president engineering, Inphi Corporation
  • Duncan Hannay, retired president and CEO, Street Capital Bank of Canada
  • Roger Tong, CEO of AsiaSat
  • Peter Mabson, president of exactEarth Ltd.

Fellows of the Academy are elected for their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession and are committed to ensuring that Canada’s engineering expertise is applied to the benefit of all Canadians. 

““Over the past 33 years, Fellows of the Academy have provided engineering leadership in the fields of education, infrastructure, innovation and many more. We expect the new Fellows to expand upon these contributions to the prosperity, well-being and sustainability of Canada and its people.

“The new Fellows apply engineering principles from widely varying backgrounds, from Industry, Academe and Government, but they all have in common the demonstrated desire and ability to go beyond the normal practice of engineering and serve as role models in their fields and to their communities,” says CAE President Yves Beauchamp.

Last year, 12 McMaster Engineering-affiliated professionals joined the CAE, including Catherine Crewe, Stephen Elop, Stephen Howe, James Politeski, Geordie Rose, Howard Shearer, Donna Strickland, Gina SucciRobert Tong and Carole Wilson.  

Related Stories