McMaster community members honoured with John C. Holland Awards

Two members of the McMaster community were among those honoured with John C. Holland Awards this weekend.

Sharon Nwamadi and Kayonne Christy were both recognized at a ceremony celebrating leaders in the local black community Saturday night.

Nwamadi was awarded the Evelyn Myrie Political Action Bursary. She is a member of the Student Representative Assembly at McMaster, as well as the Neighbourhood Assistance Advisory Council.

Christy, winner of the Lincoln Alexander Scholarship, has been active in a number of areas, including co-founding the Black Aspiring Physicians of McMaster, the McMaster Womanist/Black Feminist Principals, chair of the President’s Advisory Committee on Building an Inclusive Community and with the University’s African Caribbean Association.

Related Stories