Basil Alexander awarded Honour M


[img_inline align=”right” src=”” caption=”Basil Alexander and Peter George”]The achievements and accomplishments of McMaster students, faculty and alumni during the 1999-2000 academic year were recognized on March 29 during Student Recognition Night. Awards were also given to student athletes, residences and groups.

Peter Calamai, national science reporter, Toronto Star: MSU Alumni Association Lifetime Leadership Award

Barbara Ferrier, director of the Arts & Science Program: Lifetime Teaching Award

Danica Rogers, engineering: Albert Lager Prize.

Glen Gill, English and Christopher Sandford, mathematics & statistics: GSA Teaching Assistant Excellence Award.Tim Heinmiller, political science: Honourable Mention.

Edward Baker, Mike LaFleur and Kris McCrady: Rudy Heinzl Award of Excellence.

Basil Alexander: Honour M Award.

Woodstock Hall: J. Lynn Watson Award.

Millennimania: MSU Spirit Award.

Bates Hall: Blood Vessel Award.

Athletic Awards

Janet Cook, swimming: Female Athlete of the Year.

Steve Maga, basketball: Ivor Wynne Award (Male Athlete of the Year).

Fred Said, football: Ray Johnson Award (Sportsmanship).

Jen Cole, lacrosse: Edna Guest Award (Spirit of Mac).

Marc Klimstra and Dave Lightfoot, volleyball: Bruce Cochrane Award (Dedication).

Carla DiFlippo, swimming: Les Prince Award(Community service).