1999 President’s Staff Awards


Three individual staff members, the 12-member MacOnline team and the staff of the Health Sciences Library are the 1999 recipients of the President's Staff Awards. They will be formally recognized at a special ceremony in the Council Chamber, GH-111, on Feb. 8 at 4 p.m.

Debbie Marinoff

Debbie Marinoff, manager of recreation services, Department of Athletics & Recreation, is being recognized for outstanding commitment and service to the University.

In addition to her responsibilities for the recreation programs, Marinoff manages all the community programs offered through the department.

A number of new, innovative programs have been initiated since she became manager eight years ago, including the Outdoor Discovery program, the Centre for Dance, the Mini-University and Explore.

Described as a model supervisor and a mentor and friend to many students and co-workers, Marinoff was involved with the development of the Pulse facility, has served on numerous University committees, and has been an active volunteer in the Hamilton community.

Frances McCrone

A McMaster staff member for 26 years, Frances McCrone, reference services, Mills Library, is being recognized for outstanding contribution to the community through her involvement with the annual McMaster Christmas Toy Drive.

She has been involved with the drive for more than 10 years and, since 1992, has been its principal organizer.

The Toy Drive collects new and slightly used toys, books and games for distribution by the Salvation Army.

Each year, hundreds of toys are deposited in the decorated collection boxes located in each of the campus libraries.

Ida Kopac

Ida Kopac, administrative co-ordinator with the Development of Women Health Professionals (DWHP) program, was nominated for outstanding contributions to the efficiency and effectiveness of University operations and enhancement of the University's reputation.The DWHP project is a partnership between the School of Nursing and Aga Khan University in Karachi, Pakistan.

Kopac not only provides administrative support to the program but, over the years, has also become a mentor and friend to many international students in nursing.

It has been noted that her commitment to the project, expertise in problem-solving, knowledge of international travel arrangements and support of the program's faculty and staff both here at McMaster and abroad, have helped to ensure the success of the DWHP program.

MacOnline Team

McMaster students living in the 11 campus residences have individual telephone, voice-mail and call display features as well as hard-wired ethernet connections, thanks to the 12-member MacOnline team. The team had only the four summer months last year to take the project from the planning stage to reality. Many members worked overtime and on weekends to ensure its success. For its efforts, the cross-functional team will receive a Special Award under the President's Staff Awards program.

Members of team were: Joyanne Beckett (planning & construction), Laraine Bell and Craig MacDonald (physical plant), Cindy Chernish and Dave Speagle (housing), Ron Bartninkas, Barb Campbell, Mike Diggins, Doug Fraser, Andrew Roch and Colin Wu (CIS), and Tammy Kenyon (telecommunications).

Health Sciences Library Staff

A Special Group Award Health Sciences Library for their efforts in co-ordinating the successful Health Sciences Library Auctions from 1996 to '98. Organized by the Friends of the Library, each of the events showcased more than 300 items and attracted 400-plus participants. Over the three years, the auctions have raised more than $200,000.

The 35-member library staff enthusiastically supported these ventures, becoming involved with many aspects of the events, including preparation of the auction database and catalogue, storing then displaying the items, creating signs, decorating the venue and selling tickets. Staff members volunteered their time to handle these activities and to help out on the day of the event.

The committed and resourceful staff members are:Marilyn Aitchison, Liz Bayley, Neera Bhatnagar, Rabia Bond, Louise Caravagio, Gail Castle, Rebecca Clifford, Eleanor Colemam, Helen Creedon, Andrew Denew, Margery Digiando, Amy Dring, Ruth Elliott, Chris Erskine, Antoinette Finelli, Dorothy Fitzgerald, Tom Flemming, Mala Gosing, Nadia Kearns, Ann Kelly, Laurie Lancaster, Paul Lavell, Daphne Lott, Anne McKeage, Joe Merla, Joan Oliphant, Linda Panton, Grazyna Pietruszczak, Laura Russell, Debora Stefanysyn, Pat Sweeney, Jane Syrotuik, Mary Anne Trainor, Helen Turner, Janeen Wilson.

The 1999 President's Staff Award Committee members were: Jennifer Kleven (chair), Dorrett James and Pat O'Day (staff reps), Burke Christian (undergraduate student rep), Dianne Miller (graduate student rep) and Earl Cochrane (alumni rep).

The annual awards, established in 1998, recognize staff members who have made outstanding contributions beyond that normally required in their job.