Won’t you be my neighbour?

student neighbours


Every day is a beautiful day in the neighbourhood for nearly 30 students and a handful of area residents.

That’s because the residents of seven student houses have been recognized with Exceptional Student Neighbour Awards.

The awards, presented by McMaster University, Hamilton Police Services, the Ainslie Wood/Westdale Community Association and the City of Hamilton, give a nod to students who exemplify the qualities of a truly good neighbour.

The students were nominated by their neighbours.

Phil Wood, associate vice-president and dean of students, Shelli Eisenberg, student liaison with the AWWCA, and sergeant Scott Moreton presented some of the students with certificates at a ceremony held in the Student Centre March 25.

The winners were:

  • Oliver Hierlihy
  • Alon Koret
  • Sean Haber
  • Nadav Newman
  • Max Lightstone
  • Benjy Pister
  • Sarah Levine
  • Leorah Setton
  • Laura McDougall
  • Taylor Matson
  • Chelsey Cartwright
  • Jessica VanMillingen
  • Rahwa Ogbaselassie
  • Brittany Carlton
  • Mackenzie Ewing
  • Kayla Jungkind
  • Lauren Shaw
  • Patrick Moores
  • Brandon DiLollo
  • Michael Stevens
  • Jeff Dagg
  • Emily Ferguson
  • Julilla Paul
  • Nithla Mohanathas
  • Shivanie Skandarajah
  • Rajeen Varatharajah
  • Rebecca Blanchard
  • Claudia Hopkins