posted on March 28: Biologist and beloved professor wins MSU achievement award


[img_inline align=”right” src=”” caption=”George Sorger”]Biology professor George Sorger received the Lifetime Achievement Award from McMaster Students Union at a special ceremony earlier this month.

Andrea Dumbrell, chair of the MSU Teaching Awards Committee, presented the award to Sorger. “What is so notable about Dr. Sorger,” says Dumbrell, “is that he has attempted to extend his knowledge beyond the University to local high schools, the city of Hamilton and to El Salvador. He went to help a rural community in El Salvador assess their water quality. He is a humanitarian and a professor.”

The award is presented to a professor who has shown a dedication to teaching at McMaster University for at least 10 years. To be nominated, professors must have received an MSU Teaching Award in the past and be close to retirement.

The committee also named the winners of the Faculty awards:

Arts & Science: Jean Wilson

Business: Nick Bontis

Engineering: Joseph Laposa

Health Sciences: Del Harnish

Humanities: Peter Kingston

Kinesiology: Martin Gibala

Nursing: Heather Arthur

Science: A. Perrot

Social Work: H. Drouin

Social Sciences: Kim Nossal

Merit Awards are also given to first- or second-year instructors who received a certain precentage of nominations from their class during the nomination period in February. The semester's awards go to: Janice Hladki in women's studies and Robert Wilton in geography & geology.