Boiago, Demyanenko named Athletes of the Year


McMaster saluted the achievements of the student-athletes, and bid farewell to two of the greatest Marauders to bear the name, at the 2017 Athletic Awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 4.

McMaster saluted the achievements of the student-athletes, and bid farewell to two of the greatest Marauders to bear the name, at the 2017 Athletic Awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 4.

The pair of point guard Danielle Boiago and middle hitter Danny Demyanenko, who jointly carried Mac’s Rookie of the Year Awards in 2013, completed their storybook careers in maroon and grey by being named as the recipients of the Therese Quigley and Ivor Wynne Awards as the Marauders Athletes of the Year.

They were joined among the major award winners by seniors Rebecca Steckle of women’s volleyball and men’s wrestler Joban Phulka, who took home the Dr. Edna Guest and Dr. Ray Johnson Awards as Mac’s graduating student-athletes who best exemplify the spirit of McMaster.

Badminton’s exceptional first-year duo of Jayme Carter and Clement Chow became the first Mac student-athletes to sweep the Mel and Marilyn Hawkrigg Awards for their sport as the Marauders Rookies of the Year.

Earlier Tuesday, Mac’s women’s rugby team was honoured as the recipient of the Joyce Wignall Award, as the McMaster team that made the most outstanding contribution to their community in 2016-17. Women’s hockey player Michelle Biehl was named as the winner of the Les Prince Award for her personal dedication to community service.

In 2017, Boiago became Mac’s first winner of the Nan Copp Award for the national player of the year, just the fourth player to win both the OUA Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year awards in women’s basketball, and the first Marauder to accomplish that feat. Boiago was the first McMaster player to win Player of the Year since Lindsay Degroot repeated as the winner of the OUA West honour in 2007 and 2008, and the first Mac winner of the Defensive Player of the Year since Rachel Hart in 2008.

Boiago’s rate of 25.5 points per 40 minutes was the highest in the OUA this season, while her totals of 81 assists and 51 three-pointers ranked third in the conference.

She completed her regular season career as McMaster’s all-time leading scorer, with a total of 1,719 points that ranks third in OUA history. She also topped the program’s record book with 250 steals, and finished second in assists (297) and third in rebounds (603).

Entering similarly rarified air, Demyanenko was named as the OUA Player of the Year for the second time in his career in 2017, becoming just the second player in OUA history to do so. He was awarded as a First Team All-Canadian for his efforts, and won his fifth OUA championship and fifth national medal in his five year career at McMaster.

The middle was the fourth consecutive McMaster winner of the OUA Player of the Year Award, solidifying the dynastic status of his team.

Steckle was named an OUA second-team all-star in her final season, and served as co-captain for a Marauder squad that won its second OUA championship in four years. The four-time CIS academic All-Canadian also served on the McMaster Athletes Care executive and has volunteered with the MacMentoring program as well as the McMaster Children’s Hospital. 

For his part, Phulka leaves McMaster and the wrestling team with an impressive career that includes two CIS medals, three OUA medals – including two gold – an OUA team championship, the Dr. Jack Kennedy award for top male scholar-athlete and both the OUA & USPORTS Community Service Award. His community outreach includes Mac Athletes Care in Hamilton as well as back home in Abbotsford, BC, with his old wrestling club.

For her outstanding play at the OUA championship, where she won 8 of the 9 doubles matches she was involved in, Carter was named an OUA All-Star as well as the league’s Rookie of the Year. She was an integral part of Mac’s OUA bronze-medal finish.

A first-year Life Sciences student, Chow stormed onto the OUA badminton scene this year, going undefeated in six matches, including five singles victories, at the OUA Championship, where the Marauders claimed bronze. For his efforts he was not only named the OUA Rookie of the Year, but the OUA Most Valuable Player as well.

One of the biggest supporters of the McMaster Athletes Care program, the women’s rugby team takes pride in helping to execute programs like the weekly visits to the Boys and Girls Clubs of Hamilton and kids to campus trips. Team members have also enthusiastically participated in the School Visits program, Think Pink and CCES Succeed Clean program.

An executive member of Mac Athletes Care, Biehl enthusiastically gives back to the Hamilton community through a variety of outlets. From MacMentoring at the Boys and Girls Club and the Skate the Dream program to clothing drives, Think Pink and Kids to Campus visits, the women’s hockey team captain and Bachelor of Health Sciences student is always one to volunteer at any opportunity.

2017 McMaster Major Award Winners and Nominees

Ivor Wynne Award (Male Athlete of the Year) Finalists

Danny Demyanenko – Volleyball

Connor Gilmore – Basketball

Mike Kashak – Football

Jeff Tweedle – XC & Track

Therese Quigley Award (Female Athlete of the Year) Finalists

Danielle Boiago – Basketball

Olivvya Chow – Swimming

Joanna Jedrzejewska – Volleyball

Sara Svoboda – Rugby


Dr. Ray Johnson Award (Graduating Male Student-Athlete) Finalists

Zach Intzandt – Football

Elliot Ormond – Basketball

Joban Phulka – Wrestling

Max Yavitt – Lacrosse

Dr. Edna Guest Award (Graduating Female Student-Athlete) Finalists

 Katelyn Chan – Fencing

Colleen Irowa – Rugby

Rebecca Steckle – Volleyball

Monica Wood – Wrestling


Mel & Marilyn Hawkrigg Award for Male Rookie of the Year Finalists

Clement Chow – Badminton

Lucas DaSilva – Baseball

Will Kelly – Rugby

Adam Preocanin – Football


Mel & Marilyn Hawkrigg Award for Female Rookie of the Year Finalists

Jayme Carter – Badminton

Kamila Haase – Volleyball

Taylor Price – Rugby

Olivia Wilson – Basketball


Les Prince Award Finalists

Michelle Biehl –Hockey

Victoria Giglio – Swimming

Lydia Hicks –Rugby

Chris Zhang – Fencing


Bruce Cochrane Award Finalists

Jean-Luc Kresic – Badminton

Jason Sun – Badminton

Mitch Yemm –Rugby

Kristian Ferreira – Soccer


Joyce Wignall Award Finalists


Women’s Hockey

Men’s Rugby

Women’s Rugby

Related Stories