McMaster announces honorary degree recipients for Fall convocation

By Michelle Donovan , November 10, 2008

A distinguished list of four Canadians will receive honorary degrees from McMaster University during Fall convocation ceremonies, which will take place Friday, November 21 in the Great Hall of Hamilton Place.

Degrees will be awarded to the graduating classes of the Degroote School of Business, the Faculty of Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences and the Arts and Science Program, during the morning ceremony, which begins at 9:30 a.m.

David Johnston, president of the University of Waterloo and Janice Gross Stein, director of the Munk Centre for International Studies at the University of Toronto, will both receive a Doctor of Laws.

The conferring of degrees to the Faculty of Engineering, the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Health Sciences will take place the same day at 2:30 p.m.

During the afternoon ceremony, David Brillinger, a professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley, will receive a Doctor of Science, and Sheila Watt-Cloutier, an environmental activist and advocate for the Inuit, will receive a Doctor of Laws.

Honorary degree recipients are recognized for their contributions in such areas as public service, education and scholarship, creative and performing arts, and for their work within the McMaster community.

McMaster University's guidelines for the awarding of honorary degrees are available at